IS FACEBOOK LINKED TO SCIENTOLOGY?


We interrupt this journal of our Cedar Key adventures to pose a serious question: Is there a link between Facebook and Scientology?

We ask because on the morning of January 20, The day after Laura’s happy Birthday,

Smile like the statue Dee found for me.

She was suddenly blocked from her Facebook access – a mere two hours after she replied to an unsolicited message from a group of scientologists. She requested they “unfriend” her. Then, FB began asking her to jump through a series of hoops to “verify” that Laura was Laura – including: ID pictures of Facebook friends and then requesting a phone number to call or send a text to – and when she opted to have them call her on her home phone, so as not to give out her cell, access was completely denied.

Here’s what happened from Laura’s point of view:

For the past several months I periodically received a Facebook message that warned me I had an “SP” or “Squirrel” on my list of friends and I should “unfriend” them, immediately.

Being a curious person, I inquired why and someone explained that an SP or Squirrel was a category applied to a person who was “dissing” the church of Scientology.  Well, that stirred my curiosity even further so I investigated and found articles about the situation. Turns out, the woman they are calling out as an SP, Debbie Cook, had been a leader in Scientology for decades and was calling out them for some shady financial practices of the Church.

It’s a long story – going back a year – where they imprisoned her in a hot box in a desert until she signed a non-disclosure agreement – but then she took them to court to get the restraining order removed and just recently won that court case against Scientology. I then reported those findings on my Facebook page.

When I did that – I got several scientology devotees “dissing” me openly on my Facebook page. I thought it amusing – as they parroted whatever they were told to say. They seemed blindered – unable to see anything but their  own (wet) dogma.

Then I got another unsolicited message from a Jo Jo Zawawi – urging me and a group of people to “unfriend”  Debbie Cook, again. This group message came in early January, to a list of people..  I replied that I didn’t agree with their practice.   Group Messages on Facebook are funny. They lie dormant until someone else in the group replies and it stirs all up again. So I again told them I didn’t agree with their behavior

I even copied and pasted it to my actual Facebook page, bringing it to the attention of my actual friends.

That led to JoJo adding me to the list of people to unfriend and when I saw several of them had, the idea clicked to use this opportunity to get all the scientologist to unfriend me and clean up my Facebook list of friends. I had an overwhelming number of scientologists on my list – which was fine so long as they aren’t preaching at me all the time.

Two hours later, I couldn’t even access my Facebook account.

And when I went to check on the situation via my husband’s account, I notice my picture had disappeared next to my name on his list of friends.

And when I clicked on my name while in his account a statement came up: “no such account”

And when I tried to send a direct message to my account, a statement came up “You are unauthorized to contact this person”

Really?!

So I have to ask: Are the Facebook Police linked to the Scientologists?

I sent a note to my friend Mark through my husband’s Facebook account and he sent back this link:http://leavingscientology.wordpress.com/2009/11/10/facebook-and-scientology-making-the-world-more-disconnected/

It talks about the same people doing the same thing — in 2009!!!

“It started, as we reported earlier, with JoJo Zawawi advising people that they should disconnect from Sherry Katz. “Sherry Katz has resigned from our Church,” says JoJo. “She is committing suppressive acts and attacking the Church and making effort to pull people off the Bridge. I have personally verified this with OSA Int. I recommend that you delete your Facebook friend connection with her.” She ends with ”xoxox” – lots of hugs and kisses to go with her generalities and character assassination.”

Wow.  I was unsure about joining Facebook for a long time before I did. Now I think my initial instincts were right.

I also sent a message to Mark Zuckerberg via John’s FB account – inquiring specifically about a Facebook – Scientology link, but I doubt he will reply back.

I raise this issue because Facebook is a big brother atmosphere without any recourse on the user part.

First of all, you can’t simply unfriend someone – you have to block or report them.  What’s up with that?

Then, if someone or a group decides to call you out, declare you as a spammer, (because they didn’t like what you said)  there is no court of adjudication on Facebook. He who calls out the other first, wins.

This  is not the philosophy of an organization I want to be associated with.

So this morning, I noticed my Gmail account (which I mysteriously couldn’t access either last night) had a FB notice stemming back to 9pm last night –about 2 hours after I sent the message to Zuckerberg.

But I could not get onto my Facebook account until I surrendered my cell phone number – to get a text with a code – to put into Facebook – who then wanted me to agree to received Facebook notices by text (denied) and to let all my “friends” know my  cell phone (denied) before they gave me access to my account.

By now I feel really squeamish about this entire Facebook Experience.  I wonder who is lurking being the curtain.

“Pay not attention to the man behind the curtain” the Wizard of Oz boomed to Dorothy and her entourage.

But I must, and I will.

Anyone have a similar Facebook or scientology story?  Please Share!  Shine light on the darkness.

“Rage, Rage against the dying of  the light”

xo Laura

coconut cake with bavarian chocolate shells! yum

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mark McCullough on February 21, 2012 at 12:15 pm

    Troublemaker. You SOOOO need to be assimilated.

    Reply

    • takes one to know one! LAURA Laura Matson Hahn New Hope, PAwww.conversationfarm.co

      ________________________________

      Reply

      • Posted by Lisa Hahn on February 21, 2012 at 1:09 pm

        This is a really creepy situation, Laura. I had a secretary once who was trying to get out of a cult. Didn’t know she was in one. They really terrorized her emotionally. Big Brother is everywhere today.

        Reply

        • Lisa – yes it is. So many eyes, so little conscience.

          LAURA Laura Matson Hahn New Hope, PA http://www.conversationfarm.co

          ________________________________

          Reply

        • Posted by SallyAnn Larkin on February 21, 2012 at 4:47 pm

          Hi – interesting post. Last year, I was in the process of sending some Scientology links to a few facebook friends (privately!) when my account was suddenly terminated – right in the process of sending the (private!) messages. It happened twice, with no warning. After a few days, the account was reactivated without my intervention, but still…kinda creepy. I had a similar incident happen with my Twitter account last week, and it also involved sending a link to a video concerning scientology and its abuse. So apparently the Scientology police are all over the net…scary

          Reply

  2. Posted by Tina on February 21, 2012 at 4:58 pm

    Facebook might not be linked to Scientology – but those people harassing you could have hacked your account. I wouldn’tbe surprised though if scientology had people working at Facebook. By the way It is possible to unfriend people, e.g. removing them from your friends list.

    Reply

    • Tina – thanks for your input. I finally figured out where to look to unfriend – and will be doing so – how in the world do they hack?

      Reply

      • Posted by Tina on February 22, 2012 at 1:20 pm

        A lot of people I know got their accounts hacked by spammers – they klicked on a link and shortly after their accounts started to spam their friends walls. But hey, if it is possible to log in to FBI or CIA systems – Facebook isn’t a problem 😦

        Reply

  3. Posted by Gerry on February 29, 2012 at 11:38 am

    Happy Birthday, Toots! Sorry it’s so belated, but this is the first time in weeks I’ve had time for anything personal on the internet. I just caught up on your blogs, and I loved them all. (This one is a bit unsettling, though; watch out!)
    xox

    Reply

What do you think? Share, Please!

