MOTH TO FLAME


Last night, John and I enjoyed the garden — torches lit, fire in the chiminea, waiting for the fireworks in the sky.

As dusk faded into dark, a moth fluttered over John’s head — drawn to the heat and light of the torch behind him.

“Look at that” I said. “Like a moth to flame.” It fluttered a little too close and I was concerned it would burn up –

but then it turned…. and fluttered toward me.

“It’s alright,” John said. “They don’t hurt you.”

THIS IS VERY SIMILAR TO THE MOTH WHO VISITED US

I watched this light-colored moth flutter closer and closer – liting for a moment on the table – its wings a buttery vanilla color – with fuzzy antenna. Then it flew again – but not away.  It came closer and closer, around my lap, my arms, circling my head and then – in my face.

So close I could feel it’s vibration but it never touched me – barely buffing my face from chin to forehead – then around my head again, and across my lap.  For about three minutes it circled me.

I sat still – smiling – wondrous at this phenomena.  Never have I experienced a moth drawn to a person – and not the person sitting close to the  torch.

Who could it be?  That’s a question I ask when a creature shows up and behaves in a curious manner.

Who could you be? I silently asked as it fluttered in my face, giving me air kisses…  just like the tongue kisses of my dearly departed Bucks.

Wow!  Had Bucks spirit infiltrated this moth as we sat in the garden? Just after I’d silently wondered if he would visit again, as he had in the dream?  As it continued to flutter around me it became quite apparent that this creature was drawn to me. I was its flame and it circled and circled and circled again  until it was sure I knew for sure this was an unusual occurrence and then it fluttered off  up and away from – directly into the torch flame – and fffflllitt! – he was gone.

“Just like life,” John said.

Just like Bucks, I said to myself.

No doubt in my mind and I’m still smiling this morning.

Life is so much more fascinating than fiction.

—–

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Maura on June 16, 2012 at 9:27 am

    I LOVED that story! Thanks for sharing. I to believe it was Bucks xo

    Reply

  2. Posted by Gerry on June 16, 2012 at 11:19 am

    A friend tells me there are no coincidences, and I’m tending to believe him. xox

    Reply

  3. Posted by barb on the hill on June 16, 2012 at 8:54 pm

    Oh yes for sure…..so glad you were there to notice him and he knew it !

    Reply

What do you think? Share, Please!

