40 Years Hence …


We all went to Glen Rock High School in the 1970’s …. HENCE, we are bright, engaged, alive, lively, interested, interesting and ….

Well, what did YOU discover at your 40th HS Reunion?

Mine was held on Saturday, Oct 11th, 2013 in a standard issue hotel about a half hour north of our home town. For some reason it began at 8pm (a mite too late in my book) but it began with a jolly, lilting rolling feast of conversation, bouncing off one to another and another.

What a delightful surprise to find, 40 years hence, a nice group of people who have kept themselves well – with some looking better than ever: Christine Hellendorn – my roomie for the weekend, Robert Costello (hunk!), Mary Anne Liss – OMG her hair was free to be and looked fantastic, Kathy Feeney Luppino (I know, not technically a classmate but married to one and looking so happy and calm!), Elaine Deguise Lynn, Rick (Texan) Phieffer,  Steve Fisher (come on – he got even better, our Robert Redford), Ed Kramer (I just wanted to pinch him he was so cute, Mike Policano – distinguished, and many others who’s names I can’t remember (sorry)!  All in all it was a delight to be with everyone!

GRHS 40th Reunion GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERAOf course – it really isn’t fair to have a Nancy Freeman Shortway in your class, but everyone has one.  Tall, lithe, blondy-blond with the biggest blue eyes – the girl whose HS beauty wrecked the bell curve.  And it REALLY isn’t fair that she’s EXACTLY the same – beauty wise – and nice, too.  She was my biggest surprise because the last thing I expected her to become was a Math Teacher = and for 7th graders.  I’ll bet many a young man is pretty excited when they find out who their math teacher is.  And I hope she also inspires the girls, too! (see: you can be pretty and good at math, too!).  Thanks, Nancy, for quashing the stereotype!

Of course we all gravitate to the ones we knew best … My core posse Sr. year was: Janet Christie (my Panther mascot buddy), Paul Schneider and John Luppino,

But I was not one to limit my interests and friends.  I had a wide range of people to care about …. in multiple grades.  Seeing Elaine Deguise Lynn was such a joy – as we were friends through a unique group of girls named “Fungi Monjew” … a multi-grade eclectic group who got together and did fun things.  Now I’m going to break the code here …. 40 years hence … and reveal Fungi Monjew’s best project:  LUCKY GUY OF THE WEEK.  Those who received the award may remember the construction paper blue and yellow ribbon that appeared on their locker – with no one claiming responsibility. At one point, the cheerleaders tried to claim responsibility but that didn’t last long as they knew it wasn’t true.  It was a stealth operation, conducted in the dark of night. So one day, when Steve Fischer set out to crack  who-dun-it, by staking out the back entrance of the school, checking off who it COULD NOT have done it because of their arrival time at school, he was hoodwinked by Fungi Monjew’s night operations – I know – I was the head of that department.  LUCKY GUY OF THE WEEK  was intended to bring joy and fun to the school week – and was awarded to a wide range of “guys” that reflected the wide range of girls in Fungi Monjew, so that no one group had a monopoly on being admired and liked. In that light, I’m sorry so many other members of FM were not in attendance at the reunion.  It would have been even more meaningful to see them, too.

What I loved most about the reunion is how relaxed it was. The 10-year was more tense – as we were all still sorting out how it was all going to work out.  But by the 40th – hey, our lives had taken the paths they were meant to – for the most part, I suppose.  But I did have an interesting discovery from that day – and it revolved around Steve Fisher.  For some reason I could not identify, I’ve always had a tension around Steve, and he knew it too, asking me: “What did I do? And whatever it was, I’m sorry”  It surprised me to hear him say that but I couldn’t name any specific thing.  The Dyan Bernstein said “He wasn’t mean to you, was he.” and while I couldn’t say yes, I also coundn’t say no.  Until I was walking to my room that night.  Then the subconscious ping popped.  I remembered!  He played a role in one of my first psychic bruises way back in 3rd grade.  But the story began in second grade, when Mom took us to Buster Brown Shoe Store for school shoes and I spied brown oxfords that looked glorious for walking, running, jumping.  She saw me eyeing them and said “Those are girl scout shoes” to urge me to yes, but I demurred, knowing that I could possibly get tagged for them looking like boys shoes.  But, throwing caution to the wind, I opted in and wore those shoes out that year, enjoying every step.  For third grade I didn’t hesitate to get them again … and that’s the year I got tagged …. a nattering nabob of 8 year old boys, Steve among them, averted their own boredom by seizing on the opportunity to taunt me “Your wearing boys shoes”, over and over and day after day.  It was a hurt I tried to ignore but it wiggled and niggled into my psyche and I never forgot the lesson that sometimes you make a choice that’s right for you but not for others, and you just have to tough it out.  Along the way, I consciously forgot about Steve’s involvement but subconsciously I never felt comfortable around him.  They say you can never change things you don’t acknowledge.  Thankfully this memory popped up and its hold on me is gone now.  So it goes. (more copy below the pictures)

Mary Anne Liss - LOVE THE HAIR!

Mary Anne Liss – LOVE THE HAIR!

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA Wendy - Elaine - Lindsay - Laura John LuppinoElaine Deguise Lynn and her sweet Hubby The other memory I have of HS is specifically my first year. When I was finishing up at St. Catherines – knowing I was entering the HS where most of the kids knew each other for at least the middle school years, I was faced with a conundrum. It was no secret to me that  I was not one of the pretty girls. (my brother called me one of the Lee Sisters: as in Ug, Gast, and Beast)  But in my reading, I realized that personality trumped pretty.  So I smashed the mirror in my mind and entered HS with one determination: to be more interested in others than myself.  Smashing the mirror was an essential step and I really don’t see my image in my mind to this day.  Well, I went into the first half of the year with a smile and curiosity and by the beginning of the second term – I knew I’d succeeded my goals.  It came about when waiting outside history class (Mr Boyle?), talking to a group which included Mary Ann Liss.  As we stood there, several people called to me for one reason or another.  After the third one, Mary Ann looked at me and said: “I can’t believe this. You know more people in this class than I do and I’ve been with them for years.”  In my mind, I checked off the box: mission accomplished.  The rest of HS was a joy for me – ever expanding my network of friends and trying out anything that beckoned me.

I hope everyone in the class looks upon the next 10-20-30-40 years as “what’s next” as they each continue their path.

I also have to thank all of you who took interest in my new Novel: The Heart Code.  This has been a life long dream and a 15 year endeavor, of which I am very pleased.  I gave a book to anyone who wanted to read it, with the request that if they like (love) it, to please buy a copy for someone else who would like it, and ask them to do the same.  It is my Marketing Department of ONE Grass Roots plan. Copies can be purchased via Amazon.com or via http://www.createspace.com/3666028 which delivers faster and gives the author a better royalty.  IF you do get the book, PLEASE send me a photo of yourself holding it, as the ones below – and THANK YOU Robert Costello and Chris Gardiner for buying a copy on your on volition.  kisses and hugs to all. (sorry for any name mispellings)

Betty Watson Nugent GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA Judy Miller GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA Wendy Kromer GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

PS: if any of my classmates are in the New Hope area, please let us know. We’d love to see you there.

Love, Laura

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by ellen on October 17, 2013 at 1:16 pm

    Laura, A good looking group of people, i.e. aging so well! So glad you had a great time, but I must admit I couldn’t read the entire blog since I wasn’t in your class and don’t know the people. Glad you shopped your book around too.

    Reply

What do you think? Share, Please!

